Sakha Republic

The Sakha Republic is a federal subject of Russia. Sakha Republic is the democratic constitutional state which is founded on the right of the people for self-determination.

About 40% of Sakha lies above the Arctic circle and all of it is covered by permafrost which greatly influences the region's ecology and limits forests in the southern region. Republic extent from the North to the south — 2000 km, from the West to the east — 2500 km. Covers the republic's territory to the west of the Lena River as well as the territories of the districts located on the both sides of the Lena River. Covers most of the republic's territory located between 127°E and 140°E longitude.

Geography

Sakha stretches to the Henrietta Island in the far north and is washed by the Laptev and Eastern Siberian Seas of the Arctic Ocean. These waters, the coldest and iciest of all seas in the Northern Hemisphere, are covered by ice for 9–10 months of the year. New Siberian Islands are a part of the republic's territory. Total length of the sea coastline exceeds 4,5 thousand km.

Climate

Sakha is known for its climate extremes, with the Verkhoyansk Range being the coldest area in the Northern Hemisphere. Some of the lowest natural temperatures ever recorded have been here. The minimum temperature decreases to −70 °C and period with a negative temperature is from 6,5 to 9 months a year. Republic has no analogs in the Northern hemisphere. An absolute minimum of temperature is −50 degrees.

Республика Саха

Республика Саха́ (Якутия) (якут. Саха Өрөспүүбүлүкэтэ, Саха Сирэ) — субъект Российской Федерации, республика в её составе, является демократическим правовым государством в её составе, основанным на праве народа на самоопределение.

 

География

Якутия расположена в северо-восточной части Сибири. Граничит на востоке с Чукотским автономным округом, Магаданской областью, на юго-востоке — с Хабаровским краем, на юге — с Амурской областью и Забайкальским краем, на юго-западе — с Иркутской областью, на западе — с Красноярским краем, на севере её естественные рубежи образуют моря Лаптевых и Восточно-Сибирское. Общая протяжённость морской береговой линии превышает 4,5 тыс. км. Более 40 % территории Якутии находится за Северным полярным кругом. Протяжённость республики с севера на юг — 2000 км, с запада на восток — 2500 км.

Климат

Климат резко континентальный, отличается продолжительным зимним и коротким летним периодами. Апрель и октябрь в Якутии — зимние месяцы. Разница температур самого холодного месяца — января и самого тёплого — июля составляет 70—75 градусов. По абсолютной величине минимальной температуры (в восточных горных системах — котловинах, впадинах и других понижениях до −70 °C) и по суммарной продолжительности периода с отрицательной температурой (от 6,5 до 9 месяцев в год) республика не имеет аналогов в Северном полушарии. Абсолютный минимум температуры практически везде в республике ниже −50 градусов.